What kind of boards are people thinking of?

Whether you are thinking of creating a new social enterprise or are up and running, what kind of board are you thinking of?

1 Like

Hi. I’m still trying to narrow down ideas at the moment, but it would be really helpful to know more about what type of structure people have tried using before because I’m totally new to this.

2 Likes

I think one of the key questions is who do you want to own the organisation and then who do you want to put in charge of the major decisions. That is a really good starting point. There are a few different legal structures that people set up and the most common ones are:

1. Company Limited by Guarantee
  2. Community Interest Companies
  3. Company Limited by Shares
  4. Co-operatives
  5. Charities

There is more detail under some of these but most social enterprises tend to be 1, 2, 4 or 5.

3 Likes

I have been thinking about a Community Interest Company because that is what I read that most social enterprises are. It is all a bit confusing though!

3 Likes

Yeah, I hear you. I just want to get it right from the very beginning - not have top change two months down the line because I chose the wrong format. Also, at this stage I cant really afford the legal advice or one of those ‘company formation’ places, and so it’s a bit concerning.

2 Likes

It’s all a bit scary for me really. Which I think is why I haven’t taken the leap before now. I just want to get it right.

3 Likes

It is important to try and get things right at the beginning but sometimes people can get too paralysed by fear of getting it wrong. You can always add more members to your board and you can sometimes change your legal structure as well (within certain bounds).

You can turn a 2-director Company Limited by Guarantee into a 5-director Community Interest Company or a 10-director Charity as your needs change and as your social enterprise evolves.

4 Likes